Routen: Detail

04 Juli 2009


Natural Protected Marine Area of the Cinque Terre

A territory in which sea and land are founded forming a unique and evocative area. 18 kilometres of rocky coastline abounding with abundant bays, beaches and deep sea, surrounded by mountains running parrellel to the coast. Terracings cultivated with vineyards and olives, kept under control by old dry stone walls. A naturalistic heritage of great variety. Paths and mule tracks look onto breathtaking views.
Five villages, Riomaggiore, Manarola, Coniglia, Vernazza, Monterosso face onto the sea.
An environment in which centuries old work of generations has transformed an inaccessable territory into a landscape of extraordinary beauty. A Protected Marine Area and a National Park which protect the absolute uniqueness.
In synthesy the ?Cinque Terre? has been declared a World Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO since 1997.